‘Won’t cheer in September!’ Backlash as ‘childish’ Corbyn shouts threat to Brexiteer MPs

Twitter users have reacted furiously to Jeremy Corbyn giving a “veiled threat” to Brexiteer MPs. Mr Corbyn made the remark after Sir Oliver Letwin lost a Labour-backed motion in a Commons vote on Wednesday night. Footage shows MPs cheering as the results are announced, with the Labour leader heard saying in the background: “You won’t be cheering in September.” The comment was met with fury on Twitter, with one user posting: “Corbyn Quote – ‘You wont be cheering in September’!! What sort of veiled threat is that”.

Another said: “Jeremy Corbyn sounding like a kid in the playground ‘you won’t be cheering in September’.

“What a bunch of clowns, they look like the cast from a pantomime.”

A third added: “The people will be cheering Jeremy the people will. And your ears will be ringing with the sound of joy.

“Democracy is not for the few to decide. It is for the many.”

You won’t be cheering in September

Jeremy Corbyn

10 Tory MPs voted in favour of a motion to derail Brexit in a Common’s vote on Wednesday night, but the Labour-led attempt was still defeated by a majority of 11.

The vote, which lost by 309 to 298, named the rebels who backed the motion which would have enabled Parliament to seize control of the agenda from the Government.

Sir Letwin admitted on Thursday morning that Remainer MPs had “run out” of options for Parliament to stop a no deal Brexit.

He told BBC’s Today Programme: ““If the Government doesn’t bring something before Parliament, Parliament won’t have a chance to take a view on that as things currently stand.

“Because we’ve run out of all the possibilities any of us at the moment can think of for Parliament insisting on being able to have a view.”

The Tories who supported the motion were: Guto Bebb (Aberconwy), Kenneth Clarke (Rushcliffe), Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon), Justine Greening (Putney), Dominic Grieve (Beaconsfield), Sam Gyimah (East Surrey), Phillip Lee (Bracknell), Oliver Letwin (West Dorset), Antoinette Sandbach (Eddisbury), Caroline Spelman (Meriden).

The rebels were led by Mr Letwin who urged colleagues to back the motion, warning it was the only opportunity they would have to stop a no deal Brexit as there was potentially only four weeks in September and October in which Parliament will be sitting.

He said of those hoping to succeed Mrs May: “They know they only have to occupy four weeks of doing nothing and we’re out.

“Although it isn’t a fast burning fuse, it is a bomb the fuse of which is already burning.

“If we don’t put the fuse out now, we won’t be able to dissemble the bomb in September or October, and that’s why it is wrong to say this is premature.”

Eight Labour MPs defied Jeremy Cobyn to oppose the motion.

The Labour MPs who voted against were: Kevin Barron (Rother Valley), Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley), Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar and Limehouse), Caroline Flint (Don Valley), Stephen Hepburn (Jarrow), Kate Hoey (Vauxhall), John Mann (Bassetlaw), Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton).

Shadow Brexit secretary Sir Keir Starmer had earlier urged MPs to support the measures in order to introduce a “safety valve” into the Brexit process given some of the promises being made by Tory leadership candidates.

Tory MPs cheered as the motion was defeated last night, after which Mr Corbyn was heard to say: “You won’t be cheering in September.”

Source: Read Full Article