COVID-19: Canada among latest countries added to UK’s green travel list

Canada, Denmark, Finland and Switzerland are among the latest nations to be added to the UK green travel list.

The Department for Transport has revealed its latest changes to the COVID-19 travel rules, with all of the alterations taking effect from 4am on Monday.

Live travel updates as traffic light system update announced

Lithuania, Lichtenstein and The Azores have also been added to the green list.

Meanwhile, Thailand and Montenegro have been added to the red list, meaning anyone returning from those destinations will have to pay more than £2,000 to isolate for 11 days in a quarantine hotel.

For countries on the green list, people do not have to quarantine when returning from these nations, regardless of their vaccination status, although they have to take a pre-departure test before flying home and another two days after arrival.

Meanwhile, fully-vaccinated travellers who received their jabs in the UK, EU and US are able to travel to amber list nations and do not have to quarantine upon their return, along with those under the age of 18.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said: “We’ve updated our travel lists further cautiously easing international travel.”

Turkey remains on the red list, despite the country’s embassy in London telling Sky News earlier this week that it expected the nation to be moved to amber.

Similarly, Pakistan is still on the red list.

The country’s top diplomat in the UK said earlier this month that Boris Johnson assured him the government was “looking into” the prospect of removing Pakistan from the red list.

Source: Read Full Article