Heathrow Airport’s Union Jack display sparks huge divide – ‘Make Sturgeon walk on it!’

Heathrow Airport: Passengers arrive as travel restrictions ease

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Heathrow Airport has lit up one of its terminals with a massive Union Jack flag covering an entire ceiling. Britons have reacted to the flag in their hundreds with many loving the design, but some have slammed it as “a bit OTT”.

ITV Royal Editor Chris Ship tweeted a picture of the red, white and blue Heathrow terminal this morning and simply captioned it: “Like it @HeathrowAirport.”

Several users replied how much they loved the patriotic design. One replied: “Wow! Me too,” another said: “Pretty smart I like that.” 

A third joked: “I would like to see Sturgeon walking this.” And another commented: “If one is in a daze from travel, it is a great way to tell them where they are.”

One person criticised the illumination, saying: “It would have been a much cooler design if they had only used one half of the flag and let the reflections do the rest.”

Another echoed: “Yeah, but it’s upside down” and another bemoaned that there are “not enough actual flags.”

And one woman thought it was “migraine inducing” and a “Bit OTT!”

More than 50 arrested at illegal rave in ‘largest’ police operation[UK]

Matt Hancock’s wife braves the spotlight as strain shows[UK]
It’s official, facemasks will be SCRAPPED! Here’s when and where[UK]

It comes as more countries have been added to the travel green list. Countries on the green list are the only places the government currently permits travelling to on holiday.

Countries on the green list so far include: Madeira, Malta, the Balearic islands (Mallorca, Menorca, Formentera and Ibiza), Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Turks & Caicos, British Antartic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, Israel and Jerusalem, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Iceland, Gibraltar, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands and St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island.

Reviews are expected to be made every three weeks, so the next one will presumably be announced on July 15 unless the government call for an earlier one.

Source: Read Full Article