New lockdown rules: What are the new lockdown rules in Essex, London and York – explained

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock today announced new lockdown rules for parts of England, upgrading their status in the newly implemented tier system. Areas across England are either given Tier 1, Tier 2 or Tier 3 status depending on their level of coronavirus cases.

The system was announced by Prime Minister Boris Johnson on Monday but was met with criticism as local leaders felt areas should face stricter rules and have a bigger package of support from the Government.

Now several areas will be placed under stricter Tier 2 rules from 0.01am on Saturday.

London, Essex and York are among those joining the stricter tier, with some northern areas still under debate as to whether they will join the harshest Tier 3 list.

He told the Commons: “Working with local leaders in Essex and Elmbridge, we’re also moving them into local alert level high and I want to pay tribute to the leadership of Essex County Council and in Elmbridge where they have been working so hard to suppress the virus.”

Read More: Nicola Sturgeon grilled on ineffective measures as R rate remains high

Mr Hancock added: “Infection rates are also rising sharply in Barrow-in-Furness, in York, in North East Derbyshire, in Erewash and Chesterfield.

“In all of these places, cases are doubling in less than a fortnight.

“For all of the areas entering the high alert level, the change will come into effect one minute past midnight on Saturday morning and this includes Barrow-in-Furness, York, North East Derbyshire, Erewash and Chesterfield too.”

London is also entering into Tier 2 lockdown from Saturday.

From 0.01am on Saturday the following areas be Tier 2

  • London
  • Essex
  • Elmbridge
  • Barrow in Furness
  • York
  • North East Derbyshire
  • Chesterfield
  • Erewash

Queen heartbreak: Piers Morgan exposes huge worries for monarch [INSIGHT]
London lockdown chaos: Fury in the capital as residents go into Tier 2 [ANALYSIS]
Holiday warning: Portugal, Spain, France & Germany new restrictions [EXPLAINED]

What are new lockdown rules?

Nationwide the rule of six and the curfew of 10pm on bars, restaurants and pubs has remained.

These rules alone make up Tier 1, with extra rules for Tier 2 and Tier 3.

Tier 2 restrictions state people in those areas must not meet with anyone outside their household indoors.

This includes public places like pubs, restaurants and bars.

The rule of six applies to private gardens and outdoor settings.

Pubs and restaurants can stay open but must be COVID secure and adhere to the 10pm curfew.

In terms of travel, those in Tier 2 areas should try and reduce the number of journeys they make where possible.

Those inside Tier 2 areas can travel to hotels and other guest accommodation, however, can only do so with people in your household or support bubble.

You cannot have overnight stays with anyone outside of your support bubble or who is not a member of your household.

Under Tier 2 rules weddings and funerals can still take place, however, there are restrictions on numbers of attendees.

For weddings, only 15 people can be present, while for funerals this is 30.

For children whose parents live separately, they are permitted to meet indoors to sort out childcare.

For those in Tier 2 areas, tradespeople can enter houses to undertake work.

If you have an organised exercise class or other activity, these can meet so long as the venues are COVID secure.

Schools, places of worship and universities can stay open.

Source: Read Full Article