Plan B vote backlash: All of the Tory rebels that plan to vote against Boris Johnson

Keir Starmer says Labour WILL vote for vaccine passports

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Boris Johnson will be aiming to pass his new Covid restrictions through the House of Commons on Tuesday night, including extending the face covering mandate and introducing Covid passes for major indoor events. But some Tory MPs have revealed their intention to turn their back on the Prime Minister.

Downing Street is trying to push through compulsory face masks, as well as new rules on self-isolation and the introduction of Covid passports.

Mr Johnson has previously described the new restrictions as “balanced and proportionate”, but some backbench Tories disagree.

Brexit-backing Steve Baker appeared to be one of the most vocal rebels, claiming that the PM’s planned restrictions were creating a “miserable dystopia”.

He previously estimated that “at least” 60 Conservative MPs will be voting against the Government on Tuesday.

It’s still not entirely clear whether the backbench Tories will be actively voting against the Government, or simply abstaining from the vote.

Either way, more than 80 MPs have already voiced their discontent over the measures, according to The Spectator.

Mr Johnson could be facing up to the largest pack of rebels from within his own party since taking over from Theresa May, back in 2019.

It’s believed that some of the rebels will be voting against the Government in protest at the PM’s leadership.

Omicron crisis: Norway BANS serving alcohol [NEWS]
Omicron news: Should PM shut down restaurants, bars, and nightclubs? [VOTE]
Omicron ‘milder and death threats significantly lower’ report shows [ANALYSIS]

The PM has most recently come under fire for reportedly hosting a Christmas quiz at Downing Street last year, when the rest of the country were in lockdown.

A host of other parties were believed to be taking place across the festive period, and the Cabinet Secretary has been tasked with investigating the reports.

Meanwhile, Mr Johnson’s flat refurbishment was also found to break electoral law.

The verdict brought allegations of sleaze back into the public eye, with the Conservative Party fined £17,800 in addition.

Tory MPs that have promised to avoid voting with the Government

1. Steve Baker

2. Ben Bradley

3. Brendan Clarke-Smith

4. Graham Brady

5. Philip Davies

6. Richard Drax

7. Simon Jupp

8. Stephen McPartland

9. John Redwood

10. Greg Smith

11. Dehenna Davison

12. Marcus Fysh

13. Gary Sambrook

14. Pauline Latham

15. William Wragg

16. Geoffrey Clifton-Brown

17. Iain Duncan Smith

18. Christopher Chope

19. Craig Tracey

20. Robert Syms

21. Anthony Mangnall

22. Greg Clark

23. Esther McVey

24. Liam Fox

25. David Davis

26. Mark Jenkinson

27. Alicia Kearns

28. Mark Harper

29. Darren Henry

30. Steve Brine

31. Craig Mackinlay

32. Simon Fell

33. Andrew Bowie

34. David Warburton

35. Siobhan Baillie

36. David Jones

37. Tom Randall

38. Ben Spencer

39. Andrew Rosindell

40. Charles Walker

41. Douglas Ross

42, Karl McCartney

43. Anne Marie Morris

44. Johnny Mercer

45. Tom Tugendhat

46. Richard Fuller

47. Giles Watling

48. Desmond Swayne

49. Andrew Bridgen

50. Andrew Lewer

51. Christian Wakeford

52. Adam Afriyie

53. Julian Sturdy

54. Peter Bone

55. Chris Grayling

56. Chris Green

57. Tim Loughton

58. Tracey Crouch

59. Miriam Cates

60. Jackie Doyle-Price

61. Lee Anderson

62. Jonathan Djanogly

63. Mark Francois

64. Jill Mortimer

65. Tobias Ellwood

66. Scott Benton

67. Henry Smith

68. Matt Vickers

69. John Hayes

70. Mike Penning

71. Mark Pawsey

72. Nus Ghani

73. Chris Loder

74. Shaun Bailey

75. Robbie Moore

76. Philip Hollobone

77. Tom Hunt

78. Robert Goodwill

79. Jo Gideon

80. Harriett Baldwin

81. Damian Green

82. Andrew Percy

83. Edward Leigh

84. Damien Moore

85. Royston Smith

Source: Read Full Article