Scotland level 3 areas: Which areas will be in level 3 in Scotland?

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Scotland, along with England, Wales and Northern Ireland, recently ramped up efforts to contain a deadly second wave of COVID-19. Every region in the UK has reported a surge in cases, breaking records established at the height of the first wave earlier this year. Nicola Sturgeon has resolved to take a regional approach to containing it, with a levelled system in place akin to the English tiered policy.

Which areas will be under level 3 in Scotland?

Scotland has already had several regions on a level three lockdown, mostly the central belt, home to 3.4 million people.

The “very high” alert level prevents alcohol sales indoors or outdoors, although cafes, pubs and restaurants can all remain open until 6pm and serve food or non-alcoholic drinks.

Nicola Sturgeon has now revealed local authority lockdowns in full, detailing 19 regions on the receiving end of the increasingly restrictive measures.

The following areas will enter level 3:

  • Glasgow City
  • Renfrewshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • East Ayrshire
  • North Ayrshire
  • South Ayrshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Inverclyde
  • City of Edinburgh
  • Midlothian
  • East Lothian
  • West Lothian
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Falkirk
  • Stirling
  • Dundee

Much like England, Scotland recently added a fourth level to its coronavirus response.

The third level measures now rank as the second most restrictive behind level four, with another two below.

No regions have entered level four – which has measures on par with the full-scale lockdown earlier this year – despite alleged considerations officials intended to place them on North and South Lanarkshire.

The First Minister resisted the decision for Lanarkshire following evidence the situation was shifting in the area.

Nicola Sturgeon red with fury in ‘disgusting’ care home decision row – VIDEO
Unelected Lord issues meddling warning to Boris on Scottish indy – INSIGHT
Boris told to hold SHOWDOWN with Nicola Sturgeon over COVID rules – ANALYSIS

She said officials would keep the “borderline” situation under constant review.

She added: “Lanarkshire has a high number of cases and test positivity and a high number of patients in hospital and ICU.

“However, there is evidence in recent days that the situation is stabilising.

“That is undoubtedly down to the compliance and sacrifices of local people.”

Another 13 councils must now abide by either level one or two restrictions.

Regions currently in level two include Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll & Bute, Borders, Dumfries & Galloway, Fife and Perth & Kinross.

People living in any of these councils must not socialise at home but can meet in groups of up to six in public.

Those under level one, including Highland, Moray, Orkney, Shetland and the Western Isles, can meet indoors in groups of up to six, but only until November 2.

Source: Read Full Article