Slovenia added to quarantine list with Thailand and Singapore removed

The list of countries where quarantine is needed to enter the UK has been updated, with arrivals from Slovenia and Guadeloupe needing to self-isolate from Saturday.

However, those from Thailand and Singapore will no longer need to quarantine.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps made the announcement this evening.

He tweeted: ‘Latest data shows we need to remove SLOVENIA and GUADELOUPE from the Travel Corridor list to keep everyone safe. This means if you arrive in the UK from these destinations after 4am Saturday, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

‘Separately, we will be adding SINGAPORE and THAILAND to the Travel Corridor list. Please check before you travel as both countries may have extra requirements before entering.’

Last Thursday, Portugal and Hungary were added to the UK’s quarantine list, while a travel corridor has been established with Sweden.

The Department for Transport (DfT) said there has been ‘a significant change in both the level and pace of confirmed cases of coronavirus in both [Slovenia and Guadaloupe]’.

Data from Slovenia shows that its seven-day rate of cases is 29.1 per 100,000 people, up from 14.4 in the previous seven days.

The rate for Guadeloupe has risen more than six-fold in the past four weeks, the DfT said.

A rate of 20 is the threshold above which the UK Government considers triggering quarantine conditions.

The decision to remove the quarantine requirement for arrivals from Thailand and Singapore is unlikely to lead in a surge of people from England visiting the destinations.

The countries are only allowing people to enter for a limited number of reasons, such as if they have a work permit or are the spouse or child of a resident.

Get in touch with our news team by emailing us at [email protected]

For more stories like this, check our news page.

Source: Read Full Article