The 75 Tory MPs that could cost Boris Johnson in major Plan B vote

Paul Scully grilled by Charlie Stayt on Plan B restrictions

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Plan B, which health secretary Sajid Javid announced last week, was met with immediate controversy. His speech in the House of Commons drew swift condemnation from within and outside Parliament. Some of the most significant opposition came from MPs in the Prime Minister’s own party, and 75 have threatened to vote against him tomorrow.

Graham Brady

Graham Brady is the current chair of the Conservative 1922 backbench committee.

The chairman and committee oversees the election of party leaders and prospective no-confidence votes, meaning they hold Boris Johnson’s position in their hands.

Speaking to Radio 5 Live, Mr Brady said “self-defeating, dystopian logic” lay behind the Plan B proposals.

Dehenna Davison

Ms Davidson entered Parliament with the Conservative 2019 intake as the party’s youngest MP.

She is among those most vehemently opposed to Covid measures, primarily on the wishes of her constituents.

Speaking in Parliament, she said she had expressed concerns about vaccine passports “for months”.

Ms Davidson added her inbox was “flooded” with people who were “really concerned about vaccine passports in particular”.

John Redwood

Hardline Tory and former minister under Margaret Thatcher and John Major, Mr Redwood is another firm opposer of Covid restrictions.

He called the latest proposed restrictions “lopsided” and urged ministers to make space and allow people to “make more of our own decisions”.

He claimed vaccines “greatly” reduce the chance of contracting Covid.

Scientists fear “vaccine escape” allows the Omicron variant to bypass protection provided by the jabs.

Steve Baker

The former chairman of the European Research Group, Mr Baker has pledged to oppose Covid rules.

Speaking on BBC Breakfast, he said he would vote against anything the Government introduces, including mask mandates and mandatory vaccinations.

He criticised them as “disproportionate”, adding the proposed measures would decide “what kind of society we’re creating as we go forward”.

Simon Jupp

The Tory MP for East Devon has criticised the impact of Covid measures on workplaces.

He said vaccine passports were divisive and discriminatory and said Plan B could prove “disastrous”.

Mr Jupp added it could “cost jobs in many sectors”, such as hospitality.

He also touched on working from home precautions, stating they “won’t help our social or economic recovery”.

The full list of potential dissenters includes:

  • John Redwood
  • Simon Jupp
  • Graham Brady
  • Pauline Latham
  • Iain Duncan Smith
  • Craig Tracey
  • Robert Syms
  • Esther McVey
  • David Davis
  • Mark Jenkinson
  • Darren Henry
  • Steve Brine
  • Craig Mackinlay
  • Simon Fell
  • Andrew Bowie
  • David Warburton
  • David Jones
  • Tom Randall
  • Ben Spencer
  • Andrew Rosindell
  • Charles Walker
  • Douglas Ross
  • Karl McCartney
  • Anne Marie Morris
  • Johnny Mercer
  • Tom Tugendhat
  • Richard Fuller
  • Giles Watling
  • Desmond Swayne
  • Andrew Bridgen
  • Andrew Lewer
  • Adam Afriyie
  • Julian Sturdy
  • Peter Bone
  • Chris Grayling
  • Tim Loughton
  • Tracey Crouch
  • Miriam Cates
  • Jackie Doyle-Price
  • Jonathan Djanogly
  • Mark Francois
  • Scott Benton
  • Henry Smith
  • John Hayes
  • Mike Penning
  • Mark Pawsey
  • Nus Ghani
  • Chris Loder
  • Shaun Bailey
  • Robbie Moore
  • Steve Baker
  • Dehenna Davison
  • Graham Brady

Source: Read Full Article