Which countries still have a royal family?

Kate Middleton a 'key player' for Royal Family says expert

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Over recent centuries, many countries have opted to abolish their monarchies and become republics. But in the UK the monarchy still serves an important ceremonial role, with Queen Elizabeth II now the nation’s longest-reigning monarch to date. Read on to find out which countries still have a royal family today.

Where is the Queen head of state?

Queen Elizabeth II is head of state in the UK and her reign began following the death of her father, King George VI, in 1952.

The Queen is also head of state in a number of countries which are part of the Commonwealth.

Countries such as Canada, Australia, Jamaica, the Bahamas and New Zealand consider Queen Elizabeth II to be monarch in a ceremonial capacity.

However, in recent years some countries have made the decision to remove the Queen as their head of state.

Most recently, Barbados announced plans to replace the Queen with a Barbadian head of state.

Last year, a speech written by Prime Minister Mia Mottley said: “This is the ultimate statement of confidence in who we are and what we are capable of achieving.”

Guyana opted to become a republic in 1970 and was followed by Trinidad and Tobago in 1976.

Dominica also decided to become a republic in 1978.

Which European countries still have a royal family?

Several monarchies are still in place across Europe to date.

Monaco is ruled by Prince Albert II, the son of Prince Rainier III and Princess Grace, formerly known as Grace Kelly.

Abdication is common in some European royal families, as demonstrated by the Netherlands’ royal family.

Princess Anne’s body language is ‘dominant’ with Prince Charles [ANALYSIS]
Prince Harry issued stark warning Charles’s ‘patience will run out’ [INSIGHT]
Little Archie makes adorable cameo in Prince Harry TV show [VIDEO]

King Willem-Alexander has been king of the Netherlands since 2013 following the abdication of his mother, Queen Beatrix.

King Felipe VI is king of Spain and has been since his father, Juan Carlos I, abdicated in 2014.

King Carl XVI Gustaf has been king of Sweden since 1973, ruling alongside his wife Queen Silvia.

King Harald V has been king of Norway since 1991, taking over after the death of King Olav V.

In Vatican City, the Pope is considered the monarch of the city-state.

Which countries still have a royal family?

Some sovereign states which still have a monarchy today include:

  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Denmark
  • Eswatini
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • UAE
  • UK

Source: Read Full Article