Every Brit will have to pay £6.29 to travel to the EU after Brexit

Millions of Brits travelling to the EU will have to pay £6.29 for visa-free travel as a result of Brexit, the EU has confirmed.

UK nationals including holidaymakers and business travellers will need to pre-register for an electronic visa waiver every three years from 2021.

It will allow them to make multiple trips to continental Europe within that period.

But the EU’s announcement dashes ministers’ hopes that the UK could negotiate an exemption from the US-style waiver system.

The continuation of visa-free travel for short-term visits had been heralded by the government as one of the great achievements of its Brexit deal.

Now it has been revealed it will cost Brits €7 (£6.29 at today’s rate).

Britain will join a list of countries, including the US, Japan and Australia, whose citizens can travel within the EU for up to 90 days without a visa.

The scheme is aimed at securing the EU’s borders against people smugglers and terrorists.

Officials have said the form will take about 10 minutes to complete and 95% of travellers should expect to get a positive answer almost instantly.

The changes under the European Travel Information and Authorisation System kick in once freedom of movement rules come to an end.

A European Commission source told Sky News: "Once Etias enters into operation, all visa-exempt non-EU nationals who plan to travel to the Schengen area will have to apply via Etias."

Read More

Top news stories from Mirror Online

  • Brit children pulled from tram wreckage
  • Camilla grandchild in air ambulance dash
  • Mum drowned girl, 4, and set body alight
  • J&J ‘knew about asbestos in baby powder’

Source: Read Full Article