World News

Met Office snow warning as ten UK regions could ice over in hours

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The Met Office has issued a yellow weather warning for snow and ice across 10 regions of the UK. It warns disruption is likely because of icy surfaces as temperatures drop as low as minus five.

Weather experts are warning of possible injuries from slips and falls on icy surface with icy patches on some untreated roads, pavements and cycle paths.

The Met Office said: “Frequent wintry showers are likely to fall on frozen surfaces in places, leading to the formation of icy patches.

“These showers are likely to fall as snow on high ground, with the potential for several centimetres to accumulate over parts of southern Scotland, Northeast England, N Wales, the North York Moors and Northern Ireland.”

Whole swathes of the country are affected, including Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Norfolk, Suffolk, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall and West Yorkshire.

In North East England, Darlington, Durham, Gateshead, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, Northumberland, Redcar and Cleveland, South Tyneside, Stockton-on-Tees and Sunderland are due to be hit by icy blasts as well.

The Met Office warning also extends to Blackpool, west Cheshire, Chester, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Halton, Lancashire and Merseyside.

More to follow…

Source: Read Full Article