World News

Nobel Peace Prize awarded to journalists who 'safeguarded freedom of expression'

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a webbrowser thatsupports HTML5video

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov.

The pair were recognised for their fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia

It was announced by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

This is a breaking news story, more to follow soon… Check back shortly for further updates.

Got a story? Get in touch with our news team by emailing us at [email protected] Or you can submit your videos and pictures here.

For more stories like this, check our news page.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook for the latest news updates. You can now also get articles sent straight to your device. Sign up for our daily push alerts here.

Source: Read Full Article