World News

Who was the first African American Supreme Court justice?

Thurgood Marshall was the first African American Supreme Court Justice.

He made history in American politics.

Who was Thurgood Marshall?

Thurgood Marshall is a former Associate Justice of the Supreme Court.

Marshall was the first African American justice to be appointed to the US Supreme Court.

Appointed by former President Lyndon B. Johnson, Marshall served on the Supreme Court from October 1967 to October 1991.

Most read in US News


How tip led cops to find girl, 6, hidden in secret room 150 miles away


Woman’s naked body dumped outside hospital after ‘deadly botched butt injection’


'Tinder Swindler' is 'making moves in Hollywood & wants to star in dating show'


Ex-editor of National Lampoon & beloved journalist PJ O'Rourke dies at 74

Marshall was born in 1908 in Baltimore and was a civil rights lawyer and activist.

He graduated from the Howard University School of Law in 1933 and established a private legal practice in Baltimore before founding the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund.

Marshall retired in 1991 and died in January 1993.

He was succeeded by Clarence Thomas.

What were some of Thurgood Marshall's landmark cases?

Prior to serving on the US Supreme Court, Marshall successfully argued several cases to the Supreme Court, including the landmark case, Brown v. Board of Education in 1954.

He also argued Smith v. Allwright and Shelley v. Kraemer in front of the Supreme Court.

Marshall argued 32 cases to the Supreme Court and won 29 of them.

During his tenure as a justice, Marshall was passionate about individual and civil rights and decided landmark cases such as Roe v. Wade in 1973 and Furman v. Georgia in 1972.

Was Thurgood Marshall married?

Marshall was married to civil rights activist Vivian Burey Marshall from 1929 to 1955.

The couple was married until Vivian's death in February 1955 from lung cancer.

In 1955, Marshall married Cecilia Suyat Marshall.

Marshall and Cecilia had two sons together: Thurgood Marshall Jr. and John W. Marshall.

Thurgood Marshall Jr. is the former White House Cabinet Secretary during the Clinton administration.

John W. Marshall served as Secretary of Public Safety in the Cabinet of Virginia Governor Tim Kaine from 2006 to 2010.

We pay for your stories!

Do you have a story for The US Sun team?

Email us at [email protected] or call 212 416 4552.

Like us on Facebook at and follow us from our main Twitter account at @TheSunUS

    Source: Read Full Article